Back to All Events

Open House and Reception

  • Museum of Old Newbury 98 High Street Newburyport, MA, 01950 United States (map)

Please join the Newburyport Preservation Trust and the Museum of Old Newbury on Wednesday, May 17 at the Perkins Engraving Building located behind the John N. Cushing House.  The evening will include light refreshments, music, and a chance to explore the restored Perkins building and learn about the work of the Historic American Buildings Survey in Newburyport and at the Cushing House.  

The Cushing House, built in 1808 and home to the Cushing family for three generations, is Newburyport's only National Historic Landmark.  The building and its grounds were thoroughly documented as part of the HABS program in the 1936.

The Perkins Engraving Building was the site of New England currency production in the early 1800s.  The facility was run by Jacob and Abraham Perkins and used revolutionary anti-counterfeiting technology developed by Jacob, a prolific inventor.  Today, the building is owned by the Museum of Old Newbury and will open its first exhibition, Captains and Currency, in the summer of 2017.  The exhibition is sponsored in part by Essex National Heritage.

RSVP to 978-462-2681 or
This event is free and open to the public.
Please follow the signs and enter the Perkins Building from the Cushing Courtyard on Fruit Street.

This event is part of Preservation Week; for information about other Preservation Week events, visit

Earlier Event: May 10
Newburyport's Harbor Range Lights
Later Event: June 4
Garden Party